Short Run after a Long Rain

Rain
I remember leaping over fallen branches
broken in the morning's storm. I remember

dodging dirt and gravel that had washed
down driveways onto the walk. I can

still see the archipelago of puddles that turned
an everyday run into urban steeplechase.

Along the way, my aging engine managed
to chug me past slow traffic and muscular

construction trucks, and I remember
plodding over pavement stained

with trampled blackberries, and I remember
when running was easy. 

The rain moved on, but not the humid heat.
I remember the salty stubble on my lip. 

Copyright 2008 by Brian Dean Powers
Published in the 2012 Wisconsin Poets’ Calendar

4 thoughts on “Short Run after a Long Rain

Leave a Reply

